Springtime projects 

Its springtime here. Only tiny little bits of snow remain on the ground. The crocuses will be blooming any moment, I’ve spotted snow drops on the side of the road, and the foliage on my daffodils is taller each day. Spring is my favorite season. I love the smell of mud, the plants awakening, and how warm the sun feels on my skin after a long dark winter. We should be especially welcoming of spring this year after the very cold harsh winter we had, with temperatures in the negative 20s, and that artic blast that just lasted too long. 

Thankfully, it’s over now. On to better things, like seed starting 🙂 

 I learned of this seed company from a local shop in town, and I love them. Make sure to check them out, I’m very happy with my seedlings so far, and will be purchasing more soon. http://www.seedsavers.org 

Two weeks ago I had the kids paint little terra cotta pots, and help me plant the broccoli seeds. This picture below shows where the seedlings are now in their development. Though this is only half the pots, I had trouble getting a good picture of them all. I honestly think every seed has sprouted. And, I believe I might need to thin them out already. 

Always remember to keep the soil moist when seed starting 🙂 

 

 

 Project time!

This time around, instead of painting little pictures on our pots. We decided to go with chalkboard paint. I used my trusty can rust oleum chalk paint http://www.rustoleum.com. This can and I have created many fun things together. Ah memories….. And, this will be so much fun, what wonderful little gifts for our family and friends. 

 

“Um….children, please come make something fun with mommy” My son was happy to help, my tween daughter said “I’ll do it later, mom”  then I think we both said ” ugh” in unison. 

Just a tip….Before I got started I cracked the door open, as there is an odor to this paint. 

  

Oh stinky fingers, I always have a wet and dry paper towel on hand, or our chairs and pants end up covered in paint.

  

Drying time! 

 I think the golden hour is upon us, so we’ll let these dry and finish our project tomorrow. 

Day 2 of springtime project


Thinning our broccoli seedlings. 

Thinning, gives the seedlings more room to grow strong roots and stems. It also helps in air circulation, which will made a mold infestation less likely. 

  

Eeeek! I was not expecting such long roots after only two weeks.

  

Pulling the tightly wound mass of roots apart takes a patient and delicate hand. But, it’s so much fun! I love playing in dirt.

 Edit  

  

    

FinMommy 

Leave a Reply

